We are delighted about your interest in DAM Architectural Book Award.

Deutsches Architekturmuseum (DAM) and the Frankfurter Buch­messe are for the 15th time asking for entries to be submitted for the DAM Architectural Book Award. Even in this era of growing competition through new media and communication methods books on architecture still remain the basic architectural medium. Identifying the best architectural books published in the current year by way of this competition and presenting them to architecture enthusiasts is thus a fundamental task of the DAM Architectural Book Award.

The DAM would like to thank the Society of Friends of the DAM for its generous support of the prize.


We have been working on simplifying the submission process of DAM Architectural Book Award. From now on, you can register your books digitally.

Please register here. As soon as your logged in, you will find the digital registration form.

Please fill in the requested information and send it off after having accepted the „Condition of the competition“ and our privacy policy. After having registered your book, only remains sending us one physical copy of each book submitted. Please note that it needs to reach us before August 31st.

If you want to submit more than one book, please fill in the registration form for every book seperately.

After we have received one copy of your book, the registration is completed. You can varify the status of processing by logging in, but you will also be informed by Mail, as soon as the registration has been completed. Sending in printed copies of the registration form is not necessary anymore.

All architecture books that have an ISBN and were published between June 2022 and the submissions deadline of August 31st 2023 are eligible as entries for the DAM Architectural Book Award 2023. In the case of book series and multi-volume works a single volume or the entire work may be submitted.

Publications compiled primarily for marketing purposes, may not take part. Furthermore, magazines, calendars, journals and online publications will not be considered; e-books are not allowed. Unpublished books and those with very small print runs are not eligible either. Publications having participated in 2022 cannot be submitted again.

The architectural books submitted could be judged according to the following or similar topics:

  • architectural monographs
  • architectural theory
  • construction monographs
  • illustrated book
  • documentation
  • (contemporary) history
  • children’s book
  • landscape architecture
  • textbook
  • materials science
  • urban planning
  • special subject

When in session the jury reserves the right to make a fresh decision on categorization of the entries.

As an honorary award it does not involve any award money, but the prize winners are being presented at the Frankfurter Buch­messe. Furthermore, the winnerbooks will be part of the presentations at inter­national German collective stands of the Frankfurter Buch­messe.

DAM will present the winnerbooks on ist Webpage and on its socialmedia-chanels.

In case of being awarded, about six (to ten) additional copies of the award-winning books must be made available free of charge to DAM for the presentations at inter­national German collective stands of the Frankfurter Buch­messe.

In case being awarded the sender shall declare themselves to be in agreement with:

  • the award-winning book being presented at the DAM stand at the Frankfurt Book Fair and at additional book fairs worldwide through the Frankfurter Buch­messe
  • the award winners being presented in DAM
  • the cover and book contents, as well as illustrations from the book being published on the DAM website and on its socialmedia-chanels.

Furthermore, the sender shall declare that he or she is the owner of all the relevant requisite rights. In the event of claims for fees being made by third parties the sender shall exempt DAM from the cost of any legal action and / or the cost of subsequent demands for fees made by third parties.

The sender agrees to the transfer of the submitted books to the library of the DAM Deutsches Architekturmuseum and cannot assume any customs charges.

DAM in collaboration with Frankfurter Buch­messe is the organizer of the DAM Architecural Book Award.

DAM cannot assume any custom charges. For anyone dispatching materials from outside the EU we therefore recommend to use a courier service or provide suitable documentation for the goods sent.

Please take the (long) delivery times in account. Books that arrive after August 31st 2023 cannot be considered.

The submitted books will not be returned after the Award.


Terms of Participation (PDF, 191 KB)


Entries can be submitted within: February 1st to August 31st 2023
Jury-Meeting: September 12th 2023
Publication of the Jurys desicion to participants: October 2nd 2023
Public award-giving ceremony: October 18th 2023


If you want to participate at DAM Architectural Book Award 2023, please register here!


After having digitally submitted your book, please send us one physical copy of your submission.

Deutsches Architekturmuseum DAM
DAM Architectural Book Award 2023
z.H. Rebekka Kremershof
Berlinerstraße 25
D - 60311 Frankfurt am Main


[Translate to English:] Rebekka Kremershof

Rebekka Kremershof
Head of Education
T: +49 (0)69 – 212 310 76
Fax: +49 (0)69 – 212 363 86